Soul Midwifery (Part 1)

Standard

Antonia Original painting by Antonia Rolls

I was first introduced to the concept of Soul Midwifery while attending “A Graceful Death” art exhibition in May.  The project/exhibition and story behind it, as well as it’s talented creator, Antonia Rolls, would be a fascinating blog topic in and of itself, but today I focus on how I came to be a Soul Midwife.

In addition to the beautiful art exhibition there was a series of presentations and discussion groups set up around the topic of death and dying. There were prominent guest speakers, i.e. doctors, hospice and palliative care nurses, pastors and chaplains who all work with the sick and dying; as well as very involved lay people from the community, who do the same.

Everyone I talked, over the course of the 5 day event was as passionate about the needs and rights of the dying, as I was. ( I must always remember, especially when I get cynical about the world, there are some very talented, caring, loving, giving people out there!) During the course of the week, I was handed a Business Card that identified it’s owner as a Soul Midwife,” and I was immediately intrigued.

Not wanting to admit my ignorance, I showed the card to a friend (a hospice nurse (a beautiful soul) I had met earlier in the week) and asked, “Do you know what a Soul Midwife is?” Much to my delight he said, “Yes. I’m a Soul Midwife.” He went on to briefly explain the concept of Soul Midwifery and told me about a woman in Bridport (North Chideock actually!) named Felicity Warner, who conceived and developed this concept and ran courses teaching others how to practice Soul Midwifery.

I have previously gone on record, stating that I do not believe in coincidences and believe instead that things happen for a reason. I know, it’s very hippy dippy, but none the less…  I love Bridport!  Nick and I have talked about moving to Bridport and we just happen to have a friend who lives there, in a big ol house, all by himself!

After doing some research, I decided this was exactly what I had been looking for… perhaps for many years.

Felicity defines a Soul Midwife as;  “A non-medical, holistic companion who guides and supports the dying, in order to facilitate a gentle and tranquil death.”  How beautiful is that?  Can you imagine having the privilege and the honor of providing (even a smallest amount of) comfort, peace and calmness to someone who is dying…  I had only to remember 6 years ago, sitting with my brother and just being with him as he went from this world to the next… and what a tremendous, overwhelming sense of love and gratitude I felt to be able to experience and be witness to that sacred journey.

I reached out to Felicity and inquired about the Soul Midwife Practitioner 1 course. She was lovely and gracious and happy to have me in her course, unfortunately the June class was already filled and I’d have to wait until August. “Damn! I have to wait!”  (I think I’ve written previously about my “patience” or lack thereof, right?)  However, a week or so later I saw a Post on Facebook that said, someone had to drop out of the June course and there was now an unexpected opening!  It was mine, I was in!  (Just as well too, because in August I was moving from Brighton to London to Dover and back, and didn’t know which was up!)

So on Thursday, June 19th, I boarded a train and set off on my trip to the tiny little Dorset town of North Chideock…  A bit more than 3 months later, I’ve realized it wasn’t just a long weekend trip to Dorset…. it was, in fact, the beginning of a life long journey!

About mamici1

I am a woman, a mother, a grandmother, a wife, a daughter, a sister, a friend, and an End of Life Companion. I was born in Worcester, MA. USA, and now live in the UK. I worked for American Express for 34 years, but retired in May 2014, to find my purpose in life. I'm on a journey of self discovery; in the past few years I have been grappling with my youngest daughter's diagnosis of ovarian cancer, my own diagnosis of two autoimmune diseases and the many curve balls that life continues to throw at me.

7 responses »

  1. I wish that I had had the support of a Soul Midwife when I lost my parents, what a difficult situation each was. Both went through hospice, with cancer, my Dad first with colon cancer. We lost him in 1994 while I was still on active duty and pregnant with my daughter. Sadly, he never got to meet her. He died on Memorial Day that year. Fast forward to 2005…my Mom was diagnosed with Neuro endocrine carcinoma (basically the cancer was everywhere), she went through hospice as well and ended up dieing on the same day as my Dad, Memorial Day, pretty freaky to me and my 5 siblinlgs. She died a tough death, I signed the DNR 30 days before I left her side, but I needed to go back to work, so I wasn’t there at her passing, big regrets…so,at times life poses challenges that we really don’t want to be up to, but have to deal with….but I think it would have helped to have the Soul Widwife onboard to help us all through….

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kathy, That is a lot to be carrying with you, for such a long time…. To me, it sounds like your Mom waited for that particular day, because maybe she knew he’d be there to help her. An you do not need to have any regrets!!! I’m sure your Mom, like mine, didn’t want you there. It sounds like she needed a lot of time to come to grips with the fact she was leaving and once she was comfortable with that fact, she waited until you went back to work. A Mom will always protect her children from being hurt, if she can, right? I agree, there are those things in life we all have to do, that we’d rather not have to do… It would be good if we had a little help and support from someone who was not as emotionally connected as we are but who can offer love, compassion, kindness and support to help us through. I believe that is what a Soul Midwife does. I just wish it didn’t take me 60 years to find it! Be well and maybe let go of some of that regret! xxxx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love your blogs. I am grateful for a different perspective on something few talk about. It kinda makes the hard but normal life shit stay in it’s own perspective!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow – what an amazing thing…I’ve never heard of this before, I have to admit. But it screams ‘YES!’ to me on all sorts of levels! A truly important and wonderful thing to be able to do for someone. I’m not wearing a hat at the moment, but if I was, I’d take it off to you, Melissa xx

    Like

    • Thanks Angela, No hat needed. It’s something I believe I’m supposed to do. There have been so many signs throughout the years, unfortunately I only recently got the message! I’m a little slow sometimes! Hey write to me at mwhite4591@gmail.com… I think it’s time for coffee!

      Like

Leave a comment